MILLION DOLLAR GOAL ACHIEVED! May/1/2013

On March 1st I had decided to create an investment project for my CAOT32 class . The conditions were to start an account from $100,000.00 and take it to $1 Million until the end of the College semester. Exactly in 2 months the goal is achieved. Even though 3 weeks still remain to the set dead line.

The purpose behind this project was to shed some light to my class mates about the power of the Stock Market and the possibility of accumulating wealth through investing in the right stocks at the right time; Plus injecting the idea of “becoming a millionaire is easy”, into their subconscious mind. All you need to do is want it bad enough…

Please take a look at the pictures, they contain more details.

Image

Image

5 thoughts on “MILLION DOLLAR GOAL ACHIEVED! May/1/2013

  1. This is a very good idea even though it is not realistic. I think there are so many variables when it comes to choosing the right stock at the right time. Therefore, it is very hard to predict. I would like to get more details and clarification because it is hard to figure out the details from what you posted.

    I watched a documentary which clearly demonstrated that stock market is worse than gambling for an average person. I think it takes a lot of experience and knowledge of market fluctuations to make the right decision when it comes to buying stocks.
    I think you are on a right track though.

    • Spasiba Balshoi Rano :).

      The documentary that you watched couldn’t describe the Stock Market any better, but for the ordinary people. However the investors who spend their life in learning very sophisticated algorithms, strategies of risk managements, and and analyzing the movements of the markets whether it is based on real facts or psychological interferences could profit infinitely.

      What disturbs me the most is that more than 90% of american workers with retirement accounts hold some type of stock investment but they have no idea how it functions… However, that is how the system is set up. It makes it easier for the top 1% to make more money.

  2. I think it is great that you were able to do this, and I definitely will follow up with you about the details and your strategy to achieve this goal. One thing I must say that impressed me was how you yielded so much from Apple when it has taken a substantial hit in the last few months. I am also curious to know what simulator you used to carry out this experiment.

    It will be interesting to see how the markets pace in the upcoming months, especially with the Dow closing at record highs continuously over the last month. I hope it continues but I’m sure it won’t. Especially with the slow growth in the economy, it will be interesting to see what happens. I’m crossing my fingers though!

    I agree with you that in order to successfully invest, you need a wide range of tools and tactics. Because of this, often many people lose a ton of money, simply because they have no knowledge of finance, economics and/or business operations. I have been studying the markets myself for the last couple of years and I am majoring in Finance. I know I still have a long way to go before I will risk any real money. The key is to read as much as you possibly can on as many market influences and strategies as possible, as well as the fundamentals. I also agree that you need to fully dedicate yourself (on a daily basis) to become knowledgeable and thus successful.

    I have run a few simulations myself, and the best I have been able to do so far, have been gains of a few thousand dollars. This is why I find it so intriguing that you gained so much in such a short period of time. Congrats!

  3. That’s awesome! Congratulations! You seem to be pretty good at investing, is that what you want to do? I used to want to be a stockbroker, so it’s really neat for me to look around your sight! Great post!

    • Thank you Melissa. Yes, I want to own a hedge fund. Investing is my passion, I think it is the most exciting industry to be in. Why did you change your mind from trying to be a stockbroker?

Leave a Reply

